Click one or more automations to select them (shift-click selects a range), then click Move in the selection bar and pick the target folder. When you are inside a folder, the same Move dialog offers All automations to move the selection back to the top level.
Hover over a folder row, click the ⋮ (Folder actions) menu, and select Delete folder. When you delete a folder, the automations inside it are not deleted. They are moved back to the top level.
Deleting a folder cannot be undone, but your automations are preserved.